The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Posted: November 9, 2012 in Blog Hops

Here comes Peter Cottontail, hoppin’ down the…wait, that can’t be right.

This is what we like to call a Blog Hop, wherein needy writers (like me) hop from one blog to another—sort of a “You scratch my blog, I’ll scratch yours” kind of thing.  We writers are a sociable lot and we very much enjoy poking our literary noses into others’ blogs and pages.

So, then…when Bruce Blake “tagged” me to take part in this here Bloggity Hoppity Thingy, I was more than happy to join.  This particular Hop is rumored to have started over at She Writes.

The idea is to tag the person who tagged you (in my case, Bruce Blake), answer a few questions about your Work In Progress, then tag a handful of other writers to go and do likewise.  My list of tagees at the end is a bit anemic—I found exactly one blogger not too scared to join me.  But enough of that.  On to the questions and their answers.

 *   *   *

 A Dime Bag of Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:

 1. What is the working title of your book?

Kimberlina…or Searching for Kimberlina…or Saving Kimberlina…or maybe something entirely different.  It’s in progress, so who knows?  All I know for sure, is she’s watching…and she sees you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Funny story.  A road sign.  A simple sign on the freeway pointing to an off-ramp for a street with a young girl’s name.  By the end of this hours-long road trip, that girl’s name had turned into what feels like could be an epic horror trilogy.  I don’t know how or why, and I’m afraid to ask.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Definitely horror with a heavy psychological/surreal bent, which would make it the first all-out full-length horror novel I’ve written.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Way too early to say, as the characters are still forming themselves and figuring out who and what they want to be.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Hmmm… “The past is full of secrets; secrets that refused to stay buried.”  That’s a bit cliché, but it’s the best I can do this early.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published, same as my first three…unless of course an agent stumbles on my genius.  Ahem.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Still working on it.  First drafts usually take me a few months, depending on the length.  This one rattled around my head for the better part of a year before I ever put down a word.  I’m a little afraid of it.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Another tough one as this odd piece of fiction continues to redefine itself on the page.  Going by tone, I’d have to say Dan SimmonsA Winter Haunting.  Or maybe one of Ramsey Campbell’s earlier mind-twisters.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Again, this literally sprang at me out of the ether from a name on a road sign.  Never happened before, and likely won’t happen again.  Bizarre.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

If I can pull off some of the scarier scenes that have suggested themselves, I believe readers will actually jump in their chairs (which is very tough to do in fiction, as opposed to movies), and perhaps have to set the book down for a moment or two to regain composure.  This is my hope.  Oh…and there seem to be Lesbians in this story.  Yep, I was surprised, too.

 *   *   *

And that’s it.  If I tagged you, your blog post needs to go up between the Nov 14th – Nov 16th. Your Blog post should be labeled:
The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

And now, a round of applause to Cody Martin, for having the nerve to join me.  Tag, Cody, you’re it!

Comments
  1. [...] The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (mott342.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

